Power to Arrest Training

Get course
Enrolled: 182 students
Duration: 4 Hours
Lectures: 5
Video: 1:04 Hours
Level: Beginner

Office Hours

Monday8:00 am - 4.00 pm
Tuesday8:00 am - 4.00 pm
Wednesday8:00 am - 4.00 pm
Thursday8:00 am - 4.00 pm
Friday8:00 am - 4.00 pm
SaturdayClosed
SundayClosed

The training will utilize the Department of Consumer Affairs’ Power to Arrest Training Manual and may include lecture, discussion, exercises and role-playing.

  1. Overview of Power to Arrest Manual and subject matter.
  2. Definition of arrest and discussion on the implications to the subject, the guard and the company.
  3. Lecture/discussion on escalation and de-escalation techniques in the use of force.
  4. Lecture/discussion in the use of restraint techniques and their implications.
  5. Discussion of trespass laws and implications of enforcement.
  6. Completion of the Power to Arrest Training Manual Test with 100% score in accordance with the Manual’s Administering Instructions.

Main Features

  • Responsibilities and ethics in citizen arrest
  • Relationship with the public police in arrest
  • Limitations on security guard power to arrest
  • Restrictions on searches and seizures
  • Criminal and civil liabilities
  • Personal liability

Requirements to Take this Course

Be at least 18 years old

 

Starting Course

1
Power to Arrest Training Manual Part 1
30 Minutes
2
Power to Arrest Training Manual Part 2
30 Minutes
3
Power to Arrest Training Manual Part 3
30 Minutes
4
Power to Arrest Training Manual Part 4
30 Minutes
5
Power to Arrest Video
1:04 Hours
6
Quiz Power to Arrest 1 to 5
5 questions




7
Quiz Power to Arrest 6 to 10
5 questions
8
Quiz Power to Arrest 11 to 15
5 questions

5 of 44 Total Questions

9
Quiz Power to Arrest 16 to 20
5 questions
10
Quiz Power to Arrest 21 to 25
5 questions
11
Quiz Power to Arrest 26 to 30
5 questions
12
Quiz Power to Arrest 31 to 35
5 questions
13
Quiz Power to Arrest 36 to 40
5 questions
14
Quiz Power to Arrest 41 to 44
4 questions
1. You must be at least 18 years old, 2. You must undergo a criminal background check through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), and 3. You must complete a 40-hour course of required training.
No. BSIS does not require a drug test in order to apply for a guard card.
Registration is valid for two years and expires the day after the expiration date on your card. There’s a 60-day grace period during which you can pay a delinquent fee to reinstate your registration. After 60 days, if you haven’t renewed, you must reapply as a new applicant.

3 STEPS TO GET CALIFORNIA GUARD CARD


1. Complete Mandatory Training

BSIS requires you to take 8 hours of training before you can apply for a California Guard Card. Complete the training course: "Power to Arrest" and "Weapons of Mass Destruction". Complete the 2 courses on this Website. Write down the serial number listed on the certificate of completion.

2. Submit Your Application

The application can be submitted by mail or online. You can apply online at this Link. And these are the Fees. The online application method has the fastest turnaround. Watch the Video Application Process BSIS Guard Card. If you have any issues or problems with the application, you can call the Breeze website support at: (916) 322-4000 or the BSIS directly at: (800) 952-5210.

3. Get Live Scanned

After submitting your application, you must download the Live Scan. Fill it out and take it to your nearest Live Scan Operator facility. Locate a local Live Scan Operator. There you will find the fees and you can make your appointment.

Be the first to add a review.

Please, login to leave a review
Skip to content